Death becomes her

It’s a sad thing, knowing that some people will be happier in death than in life. No, I am not talking about myself.

I recently cleaned out the “home” (if you could call it that, it wasn’t a place that I would wish anyone to live in) of a family member after her overdose and death. It was, by far, the saddest thing I have ever done. I never wish to do it again, ever. I couldn’t shake the feeling that where ever she is now, it’s a much better place than where she was when she was living. She is free from the pain that ruled her life…. A pain than she created, it was her own doing.
We all make our own lives, our own choices, our own pain. We have control over ourselves. It is sad that in her nearly 55 years she was never interested in taking control of her life.

I feel fortunate that the thought of not taking responsibility for myself and not making the best out of any situation has never crossed my mind.

Leave a comment